Leopard’s Gaze – Colored Pencil Drawing of a Leopard

I’ve drawn a leopard before, but this one is in color. I had this reference picture for ages and I wanted to do something like it, but I figured it would look nicer in color, so here it is. One of the challenges here was achieving the right color of the fur, and that took a bit of layering. Needles to say the texture of the fur itself as well as the spots took quite a while to draw, and one also has to keep in mind how the length of the hairs varies on different parts of the leopard’s head. However, the best part of this drawing are probably the eyes. I used several different colors in them and I’m quite happy with the way they turned out. 🙂

 

00154 Leopard

Leopard’s Gaze – colored pencil on paper

Here’s the drawing progression:

Leopard Drawing Progression

If you like my work, check out my Facebook page for all of the drawings. If you’re interested in commissioning a piece or buying an existing one, it’s best to contact me through Facebook or email.

My Facebook Page

cov6

This entry was posted in Animals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leopard’s Gaze – Colored Pencil Drawing of a Leopard

Leave a Reply

