Pencil Drawing of Mel Gibson in Braveheart

My drawing of Mel Gibson as Willam Wallace. Yeah, I know people have already used the same reference photo to make their drawings many times, but I wanted to make an even more detailed and realistic one. 😛 Besides, Mel Gibson rocks.

 

00105 Braveheart

Mel Gibson as William Wallace in Braveheart

 

I really went into tiny detail here, but I also went for a huge range of value. Now, a digression about pencils. A while ago I bought a couple of cheaper B2 pencils, some Chinese make. When I used them, I noticed that they were slightly darker than they ought to be plus they appeared to be softer and flakier so they tended to leave a sort of a rough texture. On a couple of occasions I used them to render a rough worn leather surface and some other stuff. Here I thought they would be good for Wallace’s rough face and beard, and I was right! It worked wonders and I created dark thick stubble with little effort. Of course, for the really dark areas I used my 8B. The moral of the story is that you should use a variety of brands and there’s always something good in every pencil like in every man. 😛

Here are the pictures of the drawing progression through stages:

Braveheart Drawing Progression

 

If you like my work, check out my Facebook page for all of the drawings. If you’re interested in commissioning a piece or buying an existing one, it’s best to contact me through Facebook or email.

My Facebook Page

cropped-cov1.jpg

This entry was posted in Actors, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

